The UCC Library Space Master Plan sets out the requirements for library space development and refurbishment for the next decade. The library needs to be revitalised, refurbished and reimagined to stay current and meet the changing needs of the University community.

The benefits of the Space Master Plan include:

• Creating a contemporary multimedia library that stimulates creation, knowledge and creativity,
• Accounts for the growth in future student numbers,
• Considers the expanded footprint of the University,
• Opens up the library to the wider Cork community.

Click here for more information.

There are four main aspects of the Space Master Plan:

• Aspect 1 – Q Floor Redesign & Treasures Gallery
• Aspect 2 – Technology-rich Spaces
• Aspect 3 – Collections & Storage Facilities
• Aspect 4 – Expanded footprint

These aspects are not chronological or linear, rather a parallel set of work that needs to be completed to realise the overall vision. The space master plan also contains a feasibility study that was completed to scope the body of work required to complete Aspect 1 and 2 of the master plan.

The library has an important remit as a repository of printed scholarly collections. Additionally, infrequently used library materials occupy substantial volumes of space that limits the library’s capacity to develop new types of spaces and services. Through thorough investigation into collections usage, a modern collection development framework, and a fit-for-purpose storage facility with appropriate service model, the library will create vibrant open access collections while developing new spaces within the library.

We appreciate your concerns. We are not working towards a bookless library. The space master plan outlines a vision for an open stacks that is vibrant, well-used and tailored to the needs of the various disciplines. Some disciplines rely predominantly on online and digital collections. Others require printed materials. UCC Library will study the usage, both lending and in-library use, of library materials to inform our collection development framework and policies. The space master plan calls for an appropriate storage facility to store materials that are rarely used or borrowed. A full, reliable service model that facilitates rapid request and retrieval of materials in storage is also an important part of this overall vision.

By making use of modern, high density compact shelving, it is possible to increase the capacity of stack space on Q+2 and Q+3. The library will carry out studies to determine which of its collections should be made available in open stacks, and which should be decanted to appropriate storage.

Thanks for your concerns. We are committed to increasing the number of spaces available within the library. The variety and type of library spaces will increase under this vision. Additionally, if the library develops new learning spaces for creativity, it is envisioned that these spaces would be repurposed for quiet study during the exam periods.

Absolutely. The Reading Room on Q+1, as well as the entire Q+2, Q+3 and Q-1 areas will remain as quiet, individual study areas. The Space Master Plan calls for a replacement of old furniture, and the introduction of modern, fresh furniture in its place. This extends to the traditional reading spaces, which are in need of moderinsation.

The Treasures Gallery is a proposed signature gallery space that will be highly specified to international industry standards required for display of documentary and special collections. The existing gallery spaces already on-campus are not specified as such, and cannot accommodate a permanent display of the University treasures that will be on display in the Treasure Gallery.

Thanks for your comments. The library building is one of few buildings that operate with extended opening hours. During semester time, the library is opened seven days a week, and frequently operates until 2am. During busy semester times, the library receives 5,000 visitors daily. Particularly outside of core hours and at weekends, library users are not able to avail of catering facilities on campus.

This is helpful feedback. We will investigate the possibility of this as the project advances.

The Library is proud of our achievements and accomplishments over the past number of years as part of our Love our Library Green campaign. We are committed to green, sustainable operations, and will continue to work closely with our partners and colleagues across the University to lead in these efforts.

Yes, UCC students and staff, and the general public can provide input during the planning process through meetings, workshops, focus groups, and town halls.

If you have additional questions, please contact: libraryspace@ucc.ie